Wednesday, February 8, 2012

February 2012 ACA General Meeting

The Feburary 8, 2012 ACA General Meeting, sponsored by the McCombs School of Business Master of Science in Finance, featured a presentation by Jay Hartzell from the McCombs School of Business, updates from Regina Hughes from the Business Foundations Program, Lauren Campbell from the Bridging Disciplines Program, Joseph Schaub from the Texas Success Initiative, and Kristin Tommey from the UGS Wayfinder, as well as general ACA Committee updates.

A huge THANKS to the McCombs School of Business Department of Finance for sponsoring our meeting.

Purple - the color of choice for the well-dressed ACA member

Master of Science in Finance
Jay Hartzell and Katie Stephens introduced the new Master of Science in Finance that will begin in summer 2012.  This program is designed for students with strong quantitative skills seeking careers in finance.  The primary target population are students from non-business backgrounds or students from business programs other than Finance.  Unlike the McCombs MBA Programs, this new Master of Science in Finance will not require work experience.

Business Foundations Program
Regina Hughes, Director of the Business Foundations Program, informed ACA of a new internship course (B A 352F) being offered this summer through University Extension.  The course was designed to give non-business students an opportunity to receive academic credit when they land business-related internships that require the student to receive college credit. 

Bridging Disciplines Program
Lauren Campbell presented updated information about the Bridging Disciplines Program.

Texas Success Initiative
Joseph Schaub, TSI Program Coordinator in the School of Undergraduate Studies, announced updated information on new TSI standards being implemented Fall 2012.

Kristin Tommey, Communications/Marketing Manager in the School of Undergraduate Studies, provided an update on Wayfinder.  Wayfinder has almost reached the goal of having every bachelor degree profile on the website.  The Office of Admissions is planning to engage students to begin using Wayfinder as a major and career exploratory tool prior to their arrival on campus this fall.  If you haven't seen Wayfinder lately, please check it out.

FUNdraising Committee
Co-chairs Angie Martinez and Ale Zamorano encourged members to donate to the ACA Scholarship and on behalf of their donation, a goodie bag filled with candy will be delivered by on the of FUNdraising Committee members to a recipient of the donor's choice.  As an added bonus, ACA Treasurer Jay Guevara announced that the ACA Officers have aggreed to match the FUNdraising Committee's scholarship donations up to $300.

Awards and Recognition Committee
Lastly, Rose Mastrangelo from teh Awards and Recognition Committee announced the 2012 recipients of the James W. Vick Texas Excellence Award for Academic Advising, as well as the ACA members and offices who were selected as the official UT nominees for the NACADA Awards to be presented at the 2012 national conference in Nashville, TN. 

James W. Vick Texas Excellence Award for Academic Advising Winners:
  • Jay Brown - Department of Psychology/College of Liberal Arts
  • Megan Connor - College of Liberal Arts Student Division
  • Tom Griffith - Department of History/College of Liberal Arts
  • Kristen Boyd Kessel - School of Social Work
  • Sarah Kitten - Department of Aerospace Engineering/Cockrell School of Engineering
Vick Award Winners will be honored at a reception and receive a certificate and honorarium at a reception in early March. 

NACADA Awards Nominees: Although the national winnner for each of these awards will not be announced until the end of the semester, we know that each nominee feels that the recognition by their peers as a nomination for this award IS the award.
  • Outstanding Advising Award (Primary role):  Monica Malhotra from the International Office
  • Outstanding New Advisor Award (Primary role):  Sarah McKay from the School of Undergraduate Studies
  • Outstanding Advisor Award (Administrator role):  Elizabeth Hastings from the Department of Spanish & Portuguese
  • Outstanding Advisor Award (Faculty role):  Dr. Paul Adams from the Department of Geography and the Environment
  • Outstanding Advising Program Award:  Texas Interdisciplinary Plan (TIP)
  • Technology in Advising Award:  STAR Program from the College of Communication
  • Pacesetter Award:  Dr. Gretchen Ritter, Vice Provost

No comments:

Post a Comment