Wednesday, May 8, 2013

May 2013 ACA General Meeting

  The May meeting featured ice cream!  Thanks to New Student Services for sponsoring our ice cream social!

Appreciating Campus Administrators honoree for May was Marc Musick, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, College of Liberal Arts.  Nathan Vickers accepted on Dean Musick's behalf.

Jessica Bradford of the Awards and Recognition Committee announced the 2012-2013 ACA student scholarship winners.

The student scholarship winners are, from left to right, Elizabeth Barnes, Ayomide Fasalojo, David McDonald, and Jacob Spangler.  Not pictured is Samantha Robles, who could not be at the meeting.
McKinlaye Harkavy, also of the Awards and Recognition Committee, announced the advisor scholarships:
Kristen Anton
Anneke Chy
Gina Higby
Letita Monsey
Our NACADA honorees!  Congratulations!

Alexia Apollo, Certificate of Merit, Outstanding Advising Award--Primary Advising Role
Jinane Sounny-Slitine, Certificate of Merit, Outstanding New Advisor--Primary Advising Role
UTeach-Liberal Arts (represented by Eric Bowles), Certificate of Merit--Outstanding Institutional Program
Cristi Biggs, Assistant Dean of Students for the Office of the Dean of Students spoke on behalf of New Student Services, reviewing for ACA some of the changes in Orientation for this summer.  Also filling ACA in on 2013 Summer Orientation were:

KJ Harris
Kyle Clark

Alex Kappus (and Esmer Bedia seated to the right).

Dr. Madeleine Hsu, Director of Asian American Studies spoke on the key themes of the Asian American Studies major, its interdisciplinary nature, and the importance of the major in the study of a significant segment of US society.  

Candidates for the 2013-2014 officer positions made their campaign speeches.  Jay Guevara (Communication/PR), Sara Schultz (Historian), Alanna Bitzel (Secretary), Jessica Bradford (Treasurer), Matthew Haynes and Kelly Strait (Co-Vice Presidents), and Julia Chinnock (President-Elect) all ran unopposed and were duly elected.  Congrats!

No comments:

Post a Comment