Wednesday, May 9, 2012

May 2012 ACA General Meeting

The May 8, 2012 ACA General Meeting, sponsored by New Student Services, featured updates from New Student Services, updates from The School of Undergraduate Studies, the presentation of our ACA Studnet and Professional Development Scholarships, and speeches from the nominees for ACA Executive Officers for the 2012-2013 academic year.


A huge THANKS to New Student Services for sponsoring and presenting at our meeting.  They featured treats at the meeting was Amy's Ice Cream!

As usual, members began the meeting by eating and mingling.

Our ACA Bobcat Crew

New Student Services
The staff from New Student Services discussed the changes happening to orientation for summer 2012.

Marc Musick - Associate Dean in Liberal Arts who has a special appointment by President Faulkner to oversee New Student Services.

Cristi Biggs, Assistant Dean of Students

Cristi Biggs, K.J. Harris, Esmer Bedia, & Kyle Clark - members of the New Student Services Team.

Undergraduate Studies
David Spight discussed the reorganization of the Sanger Career Counseling Services (which happened in March) and the office transitions occuring within the School of Undergraduate Studies during the month of May. 

ACA Professional Development & Student Scholarships
Sarah McKay and Janice Williams, members of hte ACA Awards & Recognition Committee, announced the winners of each of the $250 Professional Development and Student Scholarships.

Student Scholarships

Kayla Freeman - Radio/Television/Film senior.

Nancy Cardenas - Government & International Relations/Global Studies senior

Staff Professional Develoment Scholarships

Patty Micks - Senior Program Coodinator in The School of Undergraduate Studies First Year Experience

Kristen Kessel - Academic Advisor in the School of Social Work

ACA Executive Officer Nominee Speeches for 2012-2013
The nomination process was coordinated by Jennifer Jordan, ACA Secretary and Academic Advisor in the Biological Sciences Advising Center.  Jennifer announced nominations in the April meeting and collected nominees throughout the month of May.  Candidates for ACA Excecutive Officer positions were asked to give their nomination speeches.

ACA Co-Vice Presidents/Program Co-ChairNominees - Kayla Ford & Kristin Tommey

ACA Co-Secretary Nominees - Julia Chinnock & Cynthia Sullivan

ACA Co-Historian Nominees - Cynthia Gladstone (look between the fingers) & Angela Mirabito (as played by Lovelys Powell)

ACA Public Relations/Communication Coordinator Nominee - Mathew Haynes

The Candidates for President Elect were not able to make the ACA Meeting, but each asked an ACA Member to deliver a speech on their behalf.  JoAnne Huber read Kelly Strait's speech and Lovelys Powell read Rob Poyner's speech. 
Past Presidnet JoAnne Huber reads Kelly Strait's President-Elect speech

At the conclusion of the meeting, all uncontested nominees were voted in by the membership, leaving ACA President-Elect as the sole office to be elected by ballot.  Jennifer Jordan, ACA Secretary, announced the process for the election and the deadline for casting votes. 

The current ACA Executive Officers take a picture as they anticipate the election of their replacements.

No comments:

Post a Comment